2015, ജൂലൈ 18, ശനിയാഴ്‌ച

Panel set up to separate cultivable land from forest area

 A meeting chaired by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy decided to submit to the Centre a report on Ecologically Sensitive Area (ESA) in which temporary subdivision numbers have been allotted to cultivable land, which has come within the survey number of forest land.

The meeting decided to reject the map prepared by the Forest Department and to submit a map prepared by Oommen V. Oommen instead, along with the survey numbers.

It has also been decided to constitute special committees in 119 villages to demarcate agricultural land that falls within forest areas. The Panchayath President will be the chairman of the special committees. If any farmland has fallen in forest land, it will be distinguished and given a separate number. The Centre won't accept the map prepared by the Forest Department, the Chief minister said.

The special committees were set up following Centre's instruction to produce survey numbers of 123 villages, which were included in ecologically sensitive areas. The committees will conduct survey in the villages on July 23 and 24. The committee is aiming to separate farmlands if they have fallen in forest land and allot different survey numbers to them.

In view of the latest developments, the High Range Samrakshana Samithi informed that the hartal they had called for in Idukki on Monday has been called off.