Oommen Chandy has been elected continuously to the state Legislative Assembly from Puthupally constituency since 1970. He was sworn in as Chief Minister of the state in the UDF Government on 18.05.2011


Forty six long years as a Member of the Kerala Legislative Assembly gave Shri Oommen Chandy Ministerial berth for just around 12 years and ironically never did he hold an office for a full term. Short spells of Ministership however have the spark and glow of an able administrator and the vision of a Statesman.

His decision as Labour Minister to grant unemployment allowance to the millions of educated unemployed of the State was truly historic. As Home Minister Shri Oommen Chandy instilled a sense of confidence and gave a new look to the police force with an imaginative change in their uniform in tune with the times. A popular Finance Minister Oommen Chandy never turned his face off from taking really hard decisions to set the economy back on track and stabilize the State finances, which were in a shambles.

A rather short tenure of Chief Ministership from end August 2004 to May 2006 witnessed the able Statesmanship of Oommen Chandy. A host of policy decisions and meticulous plan of action aimed at launching the State into a fast track of all round development and growth marked this period. Vallarpadam Transshipment Terminal, Vizhinjam Port, Smart City, Metro Rail, Capital City Development, Kerala State Transport Project, Sabarimala Master Plan, Kannur International Airport, Trivandrum International Airport - these are some of the major initiatives which demonstrated the development vision of Oommen Chandy and his Statesmanship.

Not to mention Oommen Chandy's compassion for the poor and the needy and his willingness even to go out of way to provide them solace would be unfair. Thousands and Thousands who thronged the Mass Contact Programme in increasing numbers across the state reflect their confidence in this man and demonstrate his determination to go all out in helping them.

A Mass Leader

A staunch proponent of Indian National Congress and its ideology, Chandy ventured into the political arena as an activist of Kerala Students Union (KSU), the student wing of the party. He was the unit president of KSU at St George High School, Puthupally, and went on to become the State President of the organization. For a short period he was also the President of All Kerala Balajana Sakhyam.

He completed his college education from CMS College, Kottayam, SB College, Changanassery and Government Law College, Ernakulam. These campuses not only bestowed knowledge, but also moulded the career of a mass leader, Oommen Chandy.

His entry into the main stream Congress politics was through Youth Congress in which he served as the President at the state level. At the National level, he served the party as member of the AICC. He also associated with several trade unions, affiliated with INTUC, and has led several mass movements addressing causes concerning the commoner. He was elected to Kerala legislative Assembly for the first time from Puthupally constituency in 1970, and since then he never looked back. The impeccable track record of winning 10 times continuously from the constituency is an eloquent testimony of his popularity and public acceptance.

His simple life style, immaculate track record and above all his compassionate behavior earns him a unique position in the minds of each and every Keralite

Elections Won

Puthupally Election Result (Since 1965)
YearWinner (Party)RunnerUp (Party)Majority
1965E.M. George (CPM)Thomas Rajan (INC) 1,835
1967E.M. George (CPM)P.C.Cheriyan (INC) 5,552
1970Oommen Chandy (INC)E.M. George(CPM) 7,288
1977Oommen Chandy (INC)Cherian.P.C (BLD) 15,910
1980Oommen Chandy (INC-U)Panicker.MR.G. (NDP) 13,659
1982Oommen Chandy (INC-A)Thomas Rajan (Independent) 15,983
1987Oommen Chandy (INC)Vasavan.V.N. (CPM) 9,164
1991Oommen Chandy (INC)Vasavan.V.N. (CPM) 13,811
1996Oommen Chandy (INC)Reji Zacharia (CPM) 10,155
2001Oommen Chandy (INC)Cherian Philip (CPM – Independent) 12,575
2006Oommen Chandy (INC)Sindhu Joy(CPM) 19,863
2011Oommen Chandy (INC)Sujasusan George(CPM) 33,255
2016Oommen Chandy (INC)Jaik C Thomas (CPM) 27,092
2021Oommen Chandy (INC)Jaik C Thomas (CPM) 9,044


The Assembly Constituency of Puthupally in Kottayam district of Kerala was constituted in November 1956. It comprises of 8 Panchayats namely Akalakunnam, Ayarkunnam, Kooroppada, Manarcad, Meenadom, Pampady and Puthuppally Panchayats in Kottayam Taluk and Vakathanam Panchayat in Changanassery Taluk. This Constituency is located in the middle south environs of Kottayam district and it spreads over an area of 201.09 Sqkm.

The total population of this area comes around 2,12,973 out of which the male population is 1,04,968 and that of female is 1,08,005. The total number of voters as per the available statistics is 1,53,117.

There are 2,740 employees working in various Government departments including Local administration in the constituency. 5,000 people including men and women are working abroad.


1961 - President All Kerala Balajana Sakhyam

1965 - State General Secretary, KSU

1967 - State President, KSU

1969 - State President Youth Congress

1970 - Member of Legislative Assembly (1st time)

1977 - Member of Legislative Assembly ( 2nd time)
Assumed charge as Minister for Labour (11-04- 1977 to 27-10- 1978)

1980 - Member of Legislative Assembly (3rd time)
Assumed charge as Minister for Home (28-12-1981 to 17-03-1982)

1982 - Member of Legislative Assembly ( 4th time)

1987 - Member of Legislative Assembly (5th time)

1991 - Member of Legislative Assembly (6th time)
Assumed charge as Minister for Finance (02-07-1991 to 22-06-1994)

1991 - Convener, UDF

1995 - 25 years in Kerala Politics

1996 - Member of Legislative Assembly (7th time)

2001 - Member of Legislative Assembly ( 8th time)

2001 - UDF Convenor

2004 - Chief Minister of Kerala (31-08-2004 to 12-05-2006 )

2006 - Member of Legislative Assembly ( 9th time)

2006 - Assumed charge as Opposition Leader (25-05-2006 )

2010 - Completes 40 years as legislator in Kerala (Sep-17)

2011 - Member of Legislative Assembly ( 10th time)

2011 - Chief Minister of Kerala (18-05-2011)

2013 - United Nations Public Service Award from the Asia-Pacific region, for the category "Preventing and Combating Corruption in the Public Service."

2016 - Member of Legislative Assembly ( 11th time)

2018 - General Secretary of AICC in charge of Andhra Pradesh(6 June 2018)

2018 - Congress Working Committee member

2021 - Member of Legislative Assembly ( 12th time)

At a glance

Date of birth : 31st October 1943
Birthplace  :       
Kumarakom in Kottayam district of Kerala
Father  :          
K.O. Chandy
Karottu Vallakkalil, Puthupally  
Mother :          
Baby Chandy
Education :      
Institutions attended
Schooling at  St George H.S Puthupally and College Education from CMS Kottayam and SB College Changanassery and BL from Law College Ernakulam
Languages known  : 
Malayalam, English & Hindi
Wife : 
Mariamma Oommen
Daughters  :
Maria, Achu
Son :  
Chandy Oommen
Son-in law : 
Verghese George, Leejo Philip
Travels Abroad
USA, USSR, U.K, Germany, Rome, Austria, Netherlands, Switzerland, Kuwait, UAE, Doha, Maldives, Bahrain, Canada.